Transcript of Antonio Zambrano Family Press Conference February 14 2015

Recording: Soundcloud

Martha Zambrano (Aunt): Muy contenta como la gente ha respondido a este caso, el apoyo

Maria Madrigal (Cousin): She’s very excited for the event, very glad that the community came forward like this, she feels very supported from the community. She’s very glad that everyone came together like this. It’s unreal, very excited and happy that we got all this support.

Reporter: What are your emotions like four days from the shooting now, how are you feeling, today?

MZ: Pues, muy afectada y todavia no lo puedo creer porque no hemos podido verlo. No hemos podido ver el cuerpo. Buen ratos yo me hago la idea que no esta pasando.

MM: She doesn’t feel like it’s real yet. It hasn’t really hit her. We’re not able to see the body of course so it still feels unreal.

MZ: Bienen los imagines de los videos y digo no, no fue el, no puede ser.

MM: She keeps imagining or just picturing visions of the videos replaying in her head, on and on, and she still can’t believe it. It’s hard to believe it.

Reporter: Why was it important to keep today peaceful?

MM: Because we want to set…[to Martha Zambrano:]Porque era importante hoy, para ser todo tan calmadamente?

MZ: Porque no queremos violencia. Queremos Justicia. Estamos pidiendo justicia, no mas violencia.

MM: She’s wanting justice, no more violence. We’re really wanting no more violence, we just want justice and peace.

Reporter: I think that term justice has been used all week, change and justice, what do you think justice is for your family?

MM [to MZ:] ¿Usted que cree que es la palabra justicia que se ha usado mucho esta semana?

MZ: Justicia para Antonio viene siendo que jusgen a las personas que lo mataron igual que cualquier otra persona. Igual como si yo lo hubiera hecho.

MM: She’s saying justice for her would be to prosecute the three that were in the incident, the three that murdered him the same way that how they would prosecute a regular citizen, regular civilian, regular human being. To be treated the same. Just as we would.

MZ: Y cambio en las tacticas judiciales.

MM: She would like changes in the tactics, judicial tactics, training. Something to be done differently in how they’re acting to…different situations with not using excessive force or excessive violence, it’s unnecessary.

Reporter: Can you for the radio say my name is ______, and I am the aunt, and I am the cousin of Antonio for me?

MZ: Yo soy Martha Zambrano y yo soy la tia de Antonio.

MM: She is the aunt of Antonio Zambrano, kind of like a second mom [chuckles].

Reporter: Can you say your name too?

MM: My name is Maria Madrigal Zambrano, and Antonio Zambrano is my cousin. Martha is my mom.

Reporter: Have they told your family why you can’t get Antonio’s body back and is the plan still to send it to Mexico?

MM: They have not, we’re working on that. We have no answers, actually.

Reporter: What do you think about the support you guys have?

MZ: Alli es ‘onde, Alli es ‘onde no puedo creer como la gente, realmente estamos unidos. Y no nomas los Hispanos…no hay color. Alli no hay color. Yo alli estoy muy, muy contenta por el soporte. Tambien de ustedes, y por su tiempo. Yo quiero agradecerles a cada uno de ustedes, por el tiempo que han tomado y han sido pacientes.

MM: She’s saying that for all the support has been so real. We’re surprised that everything is at peace as well. She’s very happy how this is turning out. That this is not just the Hispanic community. It’s more than just the hispanic community. It’s all colors. And we’re loving it and enjoying it. That we’re seeing the whole community coming together like this.

Reporter: It seems that part made you tear up.

MM: Yes.

Reporter: Nos puede contar su memoria favorita de su familiar?

MZ: Hay muchas, pero ahorita me recuerdo de una porque, supuestamente una de mis nietas peleaba con el. Y el se llamaba, se llamaba ‘Toño y ella le decia Meño. Y le peleaba el le decia, soy tu tio ‘Toño y ella le decia Meño!

MM: The memory that she remembers of him is when he used to argue with her granddaughter, which is my neice, because they all lived with my mom and she used to name him, instead of calling him Antonio, she used to name him Meño, and he’s like no, my name is Antonio, no Meño! They used to argue like little kids.

My memory that I have of him is a little thing that he would say in English. I was remember this the other day that I was laughing at one of our get togethers at a Barbeque. He would always say, “Oh, Me likey you!” Me likey you, that he likes me, because I would do something for him or I would give him his food or something, I would give him something simple and he would say, “Me likey you,” and he would crack me up by him saying that. Its one memory that I take on from him. It’s going to make me smile and laugh every time I remember it.

Reporter: Do you guys feel comfortable with the local police investigating the shooting or do you guys feel like an outside agency should come in and investigate?

MM: [To MZ:] Como se siente usted que la policia local esta investigando? Usted siente que alguien mas debiera tomar el caso, alguien de afuera?

MZ: Yo pienso que lo correcto seria de afuera.

MM: The correct thing she said someone from outside.

Reporter: Do you trust the police?

MM: [To MZ:] Usted confia en la policia? Como se siente?

MZ: No todos son igual. Se siente uno un poquito, este, tal ves no con la misma confianza pero no todos son igual. Uno no deberia jusgar a unos por otros.

MM: She says that not all of them are the same, and just because one did a mistake all of them shouldn’t be judged for the same thing. Everyone is different.

MZ: Y yo tengo mas de treinta años viviendo aqui, y he vivido muy agusto.

MM: She’s been living here more than thirty years and she’s lived comfortably here.

Reporter: Lo que quisiera preguntarle es que la policia, uno de ellos ya estubo involucrado en un caso y fue…se pago, la ciudad pago mas de cien mil dolares, verdad. Ahora quisieramos saber … yo opino, y tambien tengo el derecho de opinar, tambien el jefe de la policia deberia ser despidido. El jefe de la policia que se encarga de … si ya sabia que tubo problema una ves, porque no lo sacan para que deje de dar problemas.

MZ: Tal ves tengas razon, pero eso no creo que me, me corresponde a mi. Eso si, deberian de tener mucho mas quidado con las personas que emplean.

Reporter: Yo creo que parte de ser justicia se pone de alli…

Reporter: The Pasco police chief, Bob Metzger has said that he met with the family multiple times throughout the weeks and he feels that the conversations are good and a step in the right direction, just talk to me a little bit about those conversations and how you feel coming out of them.

MM: [To MZ:] Que el chief of police se junto con nosotros mas de una ves y ha hablado con nosotros bien. Hamos tenido buenas conversaciones con y el estase siento agusto de esta situacion. Usted que dice de eso?

MZ: Yo pienso tal ves lo mismo que el. No hemos tuvido ningun problema con el y creo porque si se ha reunido con nosotros, y como les digo yo no quiero jusgar alguien que no es culpable.

MM: She says she feels pretty good about it, she has gotten together with him. Feels like we’re on the same page, but she doesn’t want to judge anybody for other people’s mistakes. So like she said before, not everyone is the same.

…. [Break for reporter to excuse himself]…

Reporter: Tengo unas preguntas para usted, usted alguna ves penso que hiba ocurrer algo haci?

MZ: Jamas. Que pense que algo haci iba pasar, mucho menos con mi familia.

Reporter: Y que sientas despues de todo esto ha ocurrido? Siente enojo? Tristeza?

MZ: Pues yo te voy a decir que al principio sentia todo mi sentimiento revueltos y todo, coraje, tristeza, este, dolor por todo, todo revuelto que lo unico que hacia tal ves es vomitar, pero poco a poco va mirando uno y solo Dios sabe porque pasan las cosas y para que, mas bien para que.

Reporter: Cuando piensa usted que va encontrar su tranquilidad?

MZ: Yo pienso que la empiezo encontrar con ver todo esto y mirar como recibe el apoyo del la familia en el primer lugar y de la gente que me rodea de toda la comunidad.

Reporter: Porque cree que ocurrio esto, tendra algun mensaje? algo? Y yo se que es duro pero no se que puede sacar de todo esto? Algo positivo de todo esto?

MZ: Porque occure esto tal ves por tener personas no capacitadas, tal ves, por el puesto que les dan, ¿tal ves?

Reporter: Es una llamada de atencion para que tenga?

MZ: Un poquito de mas cuidado y miren a quien…porque yo pienso que un policia no debe de ser muy material, tambien debe de ser humano.

Reporter: Y personalmente como siente de esto? Que mensaje le trae?

MZ: La verdad no tengo palabras, tal ves, como les digo, son sentimientos encontrados que no haya uno ni que sentir.

Reporter: Muchas gracias.

MZ: Gracias.

Reporter: Gracias, gracias y lo siento.

MZ: Yo se, ahorita todo el mundo de gente…diciendonos, pero ya cuando viene la calma y esta uno solo se le viene ya, muy diferente.

Reporter: Si, claro.

MM: Oh, queremos mandar un mensaje tambien para que dejen, dejen…Mande?

Volunteer: Lo quiere hacer luego, luego.

MM: Si ahorita, de una ves, queremos que la gente sepa que nosotros sabemos que todo el mundo nos esta mirando. Y queremos que sepan qeu nosotros estamos agradecidos, no nomas eso, que nosotros sabemos como comportarnos aqui en Pasco, Washington. Un pueblito chiquito, pero somos muchos y unidos, y estamos juntos, como digo, nomas quiero que sepan que nosotros sabemos como comportarnos con calma. Estoy agradecida de todo. Es todo lo que queria decir. Muchas Gracias.

Reporter: Podia decir su nombre?

MM: Maria Madrigal Zambrano

Reporter: Yo se que me lo dijo per ahora?

MZ: Martha Zambrano

Reporter: Usted es prima de el?

MZ: No, yo soy su tia. La hermana de su papa.

MM: Y el es mi primo.

Reporter: Gracias.

Reporter: Tenian un mensaje acerca de que no querian que los medios no contactaran a la familia? Podran decir que es lo que buscan despues de este press conference?

MM: Que es lo que buscamos?

MZ & MM: Justicia.

MZ: Es lo mas importante. Palabra no hay mas.

Reporter: Y un comento acerca de…parece que alguien me dijo que la familia queria que ya no les llamaran los de la prensa para que podran…

MZ: Tal ves seria lo mejor despues de esto, tal ves seria lo mejor.

MM: Para que empieze la investigacion, y no podemos decir mucho, porque no sabemos, mucho.

Reporter: What else can you guys tell us about Antonio? Like the kind of person that he was, what he’d been doing in the Tri-cities, I heard he lived here for over a decade.

MM: He lived over here, I would say ten, twelve years, around there, yeah, he’s been here for a while. I used to babysit his daughters.

Reporter: Oh really.

MM: He was a family man, when it came to us having a barbeque or a family gathering, he was there. And anything we needed, he was there. He was calm, we laughed together of course, joked around a lot. Our family jokes around a lot and we know how to take it, but we joke around a lot and laugh. And he worked a lot as a laborer. That’s one thing he always did, work a lot.

Reporter: When did he come to the US?

MM: When?

MZ: No sabemos fechas.

MM: I don’t know exactly when, maybe the year…

MZ: Once o doce años.

MM: I don’t know ten, twelve years ago, around there, yeah, it’s been a while.

Reporter: What brought him here? Why did he come to the US?

MM: To work, to be able to provide for his family. A better life for his girls, a better life for his family. To do something, you know, productive for them, so they could have a better future. What family…The american dream. Every Mexican, every hispanic that crosses the border, or any other, any race, people that cross over the, you know, the seas overseas, they want the American dream. They want to work over here and have a better future for their kids, a better future from what they had.

Reporter: What do you guys think about the idea of the American dream now that this happened?

MM: The American dream is still there. You’ve got to work for it though. It’s still there. We want, like, it’s a work in progress, future for our kids, that’s what we want. A better future for our kids. Even us as regular americans. I’m Mexican American, I want a really great future for my kids, better future than what I had. We always want the best for our kids the next generation.

Reporter: Do you guys have any indication what Antonio was doing that day or why he was on the street or anything like that or do you guys have no idea?

MM: No idea, he likes to walk around.

Family Spokesperson: Based on the…because we have a…we don’t want to make any assumptions and add or take away from whats already investigated, we would rather not say. But he always liked to walk around, just walk to get air, pass the time.

Reporter: What all did he work at in Tri-Cities?

MM: I don’t know the names of the companies. He worked in the field a lot, that’s all I know. Yeah, what ever job he could get his hands on in the fields he was there.

Reporter: When he came from Mexico, did he come straight to Pasco or to somewhere else?

MM: Yes, he came straight to Pasco because this is where a lot of his family is at. This is where my mom’s at and my mom’s his second mom, so…

Reporter: And where had he been staying? Obviously his home caught fire and …

Family Spokesperson: That’s also part of the questions we would not want to answer at this moment…because it involves part of the investigation and we wouldn’t like….

Reporter: I already asked you about this earlier Chief Metzger but how do you feel about city officials in general responding to the shooting? Do you feel that they’ve been curtious? Do you feel that they’ve been responsible?

MM: I think they’ve been curtious, just for the fact that they don’t know as much as we do. Because they’re waiting on their investigation as well, as what the chief had said. He actually told us too, that he didn’t know what happened, he’s just waiting on the investigation that happens, hopefully thoroughly…we’ll see from there. But he’s been, he’s been curtious. He’s apologized for what our family’s going through.

Reporter: So, two weeks ago, the chief himself through a consejo, they had a lot of training in place about using force. Do you feel at this point that you believe him when he says things like we’re looking into it? Do you have faith that they are really going to look into it?

MM: We don’t know.

Family Spokesperson: Something failed, something failed so they do need … Something failed, that’s why the current media is present, so, somewhere, somewhere was either…their policy just needs to be reviewed. Because it was obvious that the training that they received, or the understanding of how you’re supposed to respond, led to, you know, someones life.

Reporter: Having seen their failure, how do you feel looking, you know, hearing them saying, we’ll handle the investigation, how does that feel? Do you have confidence in their investigation of themselves?

Family Spokesperson: Well, what the family wants is justice and I think it’s fair enough to take this to, to a larger court.

Reporter: [to MM & MZ] I saw both of you guys shake your heads when that, when both times that question was asked, I mean to be honest, are you guys, I asked you this before, are you confident in this SIU process and local police investigating local police, do you feel like you’ll get justice at the end of this?

MM: With local police investigating? Probably not. I don’t know.

Reporter: What do you think, I mean, obviously there’ve been other cases around the country, other cases where…there’s been video footage…

MM: I don’t know. Never been in this situation. Where we’re seen everywhere else in the United States. Hopefully we will see an outcome of this. I don’t know what to say, we’ve never been in this situation and hopefully, hopefully we’re hoping that this is the last.

Reporter: Thank you guys, I really appreciate your time.

MM: Thank you for being patient.

…[break]…

Reporter: [to MM] How old are you?

MM: I’m 31

Reporter: Do you mind me asking what do you do for a living?

MM: Um, I do a lot of stuff, I currently work in retail.

Reporter: and is that around here?

MM: What was that?

Reporter: Is that around here?

MM: Yes, yes. Retail and full time mom.

Reporter: Como podra la comunidad apoyar a su familia?

MZ: Haci [pointing outside to the rally]

One thought on “Transcript of Antonio Zambrano Family Press Conference February 14 2015

Leave a Reply

