Pretty good con papas!

It’s what my dad would say when I asked him how he felt after work. My papí would work long hours from before sunrise till well after the sun set, especially in summer, always during harvest. My little sisters and I would be looking out the window every so often and when we’d see his company truck in the driveway we’d go out running, “¡Papí, Papí!” He’d climb out of his truck and pass me his lunchbox and we’d all swarm around him as he’d sit on the porch steps peeling off his protective gear. We’d ask him how his day went and he’d manage to smile behind his drooping eyes and the smell of pesticides, “oh, pretty good con papas.”

One thought on “Pretty good con papas!

Leave a Reply

