Cartoonies

Grew up watching cartoonies, not knowing a lick of English. All I knew is that cartoonies were meant for children and I was one. I’d make up the dialogue as I sat there. What will papa smurf do today? Hmm, he’ll sing la la la la la la, then Gargamel will do something mean. Looney Toons was my favorite especially the Roadrunner, Sylvester & Tweety and Speedy Gonzales, though I couldn’t tell what they were saying in a Spanish accent except “up, up!” For the most part you didn’t have to know what the characters were saying to get the jokes. In other clips I just knew that Daffy Duck was annoying and that Bugs Bunny’s comedy reminded me of my neighbor from all the tricks he’d play on Elmer Fudd and Yosemite Sam. Other times I’d just sit there making up the stories to make up for what I missed.

Leave a Reply

